An Open Letter to NBC on Our National Holiday

Dear NBC,

This may strike you as odd, but if I’m at home on July 4 and I tune into a show called “The Macy’s 4th of July Fireworks Spectacular”, there’s a reasonably good chance that I want to watch THE FIREWORKS.

I appreciate that your director is clearly a frustrated artiste who’s angling for an Emmy, but I don’t care about his resume, nor do I particularly care about the random people looking in awe at the fireworks display that I can’t see because you’re calling up shots of the people watching the fireworks instead of shots of THE FIREWORKS.

There’s even a simple compromise. NBCUniversal owns about 103 cable channels. You can be as artistic and attention-span deficient as you’d like on NBC. Put a static high four-barge shot on one of your other channels during the show. I’ll watch. And I won’t be the only one. I put up with 90 minutes of faux-live music and patriotic interviews to see the show… which means THE FIREWORKS SHOW.  I’ll watch the first 90 minutes on NBC and the last 30 on E!, if it means I get the fireworks in their uninterrupted glory.

I’m willing to let you insult my intelligence by showing a “live” picture of a darkened UC-Berkeley campus at 5:30pm Pacific time.  I’ll put up with The American Spirit segments.  I’ll put up with Gloria Estefan’s brand-new patriotic anthem.  JUST SHOW ME THE FIREWORKS – only the fireworks, and nothing but the fireworks.  Is that so much to ask?

Yours in mild frustration,
Rob

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

