20 Questions

I found this on one of the many blogs I follow, saved the questions, and lost the attribution.  So to the unnamed person(s)… thanks!  Anyway, the idea was to answer 20 basic questions about myself.  Feel free to borrow the questions.  Don’t borrow the answers.

1. What’s your whole name?

Robert Louis Hoffmann II.

2. Are you named after anyone?

My dad.  I know my middle name comes from my paternal grandfather Emil’s brother.  And even though I’m named for my dad, I’m legally “II” instead of “Jr.” because my parents really didn’t like the idea of my being called Junior for my whole life.  And I thank them for that.

3. Do you have any siblings?

Two younger brothers – Bruce (2 1/2 years younger than me) and Glenn (almost 5 years younger).

4. Where did you grow up?

Queens County, New York.  From Hollis to Queens Village (2x) to New Hyde Park over the years.

5. What activities did you do in high school?

Newspaper writing and editing.  In the late ’70s, when I was in high school (yes, it was the Jurassic), editing meant proofing the original article, getting the copy back, cutting and pasting it onto a page mockup (and I mean scissors-and-tape, not mouse-and-keyboard), and proofing it again when the test prints came in.  You kids have it SO easy these days…

6. Where did you go to college?

Which one?

No, seriously… if you’ve known me for any length of time, you’ve heard me mention taking seven years to complete two years of college, the reason for which is in the next question.  I went to Hofstra University in 1980-81, Queens College of the City University of New York in 1983, and Nassau Community College (fondly known as “Turnpike Tech”) for my Associate’s Degree in 1987.

7. What activities did you do in college?

Radio.  College is where I found out that I really like being behind a microphone, to the point where I stopped going to class at Hofstra (which led to their refusal to allow me to return for the 1981-82 school year) and left Queens College for Connecticut School of Broadcasting in 1984 (wow, was that a mistake).  I didn’t do much else because I commuted by bus to Hofstra and at the time, you generally had to get off campus by 6, and at Queens College, I just wanted to get to class and get out.

8. What did you study in college?

Radio. 🙂

Technically, my Associate’s Degree is in Liberal Arts – it was supposed to be Communications but one course credit got messed up between transfers and I didn’t want to take it again.

9. What was your first job out of college?

Which one?

I worked in a department store after Hofstra, a bowling center (while spending half of each week at the broadcast school) after Queens College, and a bookstore after Nassau CC.

10. What kind of music do you like?

The vague genre known as “adult hits”.  Basically, a mix of stuff from my teen years (’70s/’80s) with pop/rock/alt rock from the last few decades.  Honestly, if it’s good and doesn’t cause my ears to bleed, I’ll probably listen.

11. What’s one hobby that you’d like to take up?

Good question.  I’d have to get back to you on that.

12. What did you think you wanted to be when you grew up?

I wanted to go into foreign service first — somewhere exists an article about my participation in a spelling bee as a tween where I answered this question with “an ambassador”.  Then a neighbor in Queens Village who was a former police partner of the crime reporter on WCBS-TV got me and my dad onto the set for a live newscast, so I immediately wanted to be a news or sportscaster.  That was why I fell into radio in college, I think.

13. What’s the biggest project on your to-do list right now?

I’m trying to get a marquee sign working for ComedySportz.  Maybe someday.  It’s an old sign and needs a hard-to-locate cable…

14. Do you have any irrational fears?

No.  All of my fears are totally rational.

Well, except fire.  I really don’t like being around it.  I saw my maternal grandparents’ house nearly burn to the ground when I was a kid, and that did it for me and fire.  I have a hard time striking a match (which is good since it kept me from smoking).

15. Have you ever traveled outside the country? If so, where and when?

I’ve made several trips to Canada.

Yes, Canada is outside the USA.

I’ve been to Thunder Bay (for a shortwave-radio convention in 1979), Hull-Gatineau-Ottawa (work assignment for AMF in the ’90s), and Toronto (vacation, also in the ’90s, when you could fly direct from Richmond to Pearson and you didn’t need a passport).  I’d love to go back.  Of course, if I ever have money, I’d enjoy going further, but there’s so much of the USA I haven’t seen yet, either…

16. When’s your next vacation and where are you going?

I take one vacation a year – my Christmas trip to Chicago to see the family.

17. Do you speak any other languages?

I took French in junior and high school, but all of that is gone now.  So I’m monolingual.

18. What’s one talent that you wish you had?

Stage performance.  Believe me, the last decade in/around Richmond’s improv community would have been so much easier if I had any ability to act.

19. What’s something that you wish you did more of?

Sleep?

No, no… I don’t read books as much as I used to.  I should do something about that.

20. If you weren’t in your current job, what would you want to be doing?

Radio, if it were an actual profession that paid money.

Actually, I think NOT getting into radio was best for me… had I gotten into radio, I’d be dead by now.  The frequent moves and generally unhealthy lifestyle of ’80s radio would have done me in.

11. What’s one hobby that you’d like to take up?

I did say I’d get back to this.  And I don’t have a good answer — the hobbies that interest me are the ones I’m doing.   If I think of something, I’ll come back and add it here. 🙂

And that’s that.  There’s a lot more about me scattered throughout the blog, so feel free to go on a wild goose chase.  If you have a blog and use these questions, you’re welcome to link back, or do what I did and lose track of where you got the idea.  Whatever works…

See you soon.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

