Programming (and other) notes

For those who’ve been following for a while, you know I usually have started my American Idol blogging by now, with what they called “Rush Week” (the cut from 30 to 13) just ended.

The reality is that I just don’t have the time right now… between my VCU and Richmond basketball committments for Main Line and my ComedySportz show dates… I’m not home much from Wednesday to Saturday most weeks.  That kind of makes it tough to sit down and write out the blog.

And, to be honest, after some cruel shenanigans this week — they brought 15 guys and 15 gals to Rush Week, then sent 5 of each home without even a chance to sing — I’m thinking the Idol ship may have sailed.  I mean, yeah, they made some of the changes I have suggested for years, but that kind of heavy-handed nonsense is exactly why I’ve had doubts about the show for a while now…

I’m having far more fun with my grey-market downloads of The Voice UK (the fact that Kylie Minogue is one of their coaches this year, and that I’ve had a crush on her for over 25 years, is completely relevant)… and the American version of The Voice starts tonight.

I may change my mind, but right now, Idol blogging isn’t in the plans this season.

In other news… things are actually doing rather well in all of the corners of my life…

I just wrapped up a hectic (but both fun and immensely satisfying) weekend at CSz.  Of the 6 scheduled shows, I voiced 4 and house-managed one.  Included was a manic League Night where 13 Middle School League players took down 6 Major Leaguers in an epic battle played out in three halves (yes, three HALVES, I’m a stickler for terminology!).  This was followed by the debut of IMPROV ARENA where we had two teams of improvisers do sets of their own choice (the only rules: it had to be improvised and they had 22 minutes).  As the tech for that show, I had a little power… if they hit 22 minutes, I got to pull the plug.  Of course, for the first show, both teams were very professional and ended with a few seconds on the clock.  No power rush for me.  Sigh. 🙂

Then came Sunday, and my first Doodle Noodle Day.  A couple of my CSz friends adopted (and adapted) the idea a few years ago — basically, it’s a day to be a little silly.  You wear silly hats, you draw on the tablecloths, you bring a pasta dish (unless you get prior approval from the hosts – what, me cook?), and you have a fun day with good people.    If you are on my Facebook, you’ve seen the silly hat photo.  If you aren’t… oh, well.

Elsewhere (WARNING: ABRUPT TRANSITION AHEAD), word came out in the last couple of weeks that the radio stations I work for are going to be sold.  As with any radio sale, it’s going to be months before the new owners take over… but optimism abounds.  The current owners, Main Line Broadcasting, meant well.  However, they overpaid for stations and then walked face-first into the Great Recession, and are basically using a large part of cash flow for debt maintenance.  You can only go completely broke in radio if you’re Clear Channel, I guess.  Main Line really are stuck, and the only way out now is to sell.  Fortunately for us, the new owners (L&L Broadcasting) seem committed to local radio — there’s good reason to believe that they’ll be able to do some of the things Main Line wasn’t able to afford any longer.  It’ll be later this year before they get the keys and start driving.  Until then… I’ve been through holding patterns before.

And I’m hoping for some large-scale news at the full-time job soon.  Can’t really talk about that one yet.  But trust me, you’ll know if it happens.  I’ll find a rooftop to shout it from.

But now, I have to get back to work.  Let’s talk soon, OK?

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

1 thought on “Programming (and other) notes”

Leave a Reply

