Don’t Call It A Comeback

Call it a second chance.

Those of you on my Facebook already know this, but 8 years (almost to the day) from this post, I’m working my way back to ComedySportz Richmond’s tech booth (a/k/a the Voice Box).

I did my first shadowing sessions this past weekend, and once CSz is past this week’s World Championship tournament in Buffalo and their upcoming auditions, I hope to be back running tech (and providing awful puns) for some incredibly talented people.

I don’t think I really realized just how much I missed it until I was sitting in the booth trying to work out what I’d be doing with music and sound effects…

Yes, you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone (thank you, Joni Mitchell)… but you really find out what you’ve got when you’re about to get it back.

Over the weekend, when I went back to find the post from July 2005 that I linked above, I also found that someone spent a good part of their day reading some of my posts from the summer of 2006.

I have two thoughts on that…

1. Whoever you are, please email me – there’s a reply form on the About page.  I’d really like to answer whatever questions you were trying to resolve.

2. I could’ve taken the easy way out and hidden all of the negative stuff I wrote back then.  It’s not hard, as every post has a “make private” button.  But I’m not going to do that.  I’ll never apologize for my feelings back then, but I’ll gladly apologize for my actions.  I’ve said it a few times – and it doesn’t hurt to repeat – I should’ve known better.  I posted out of anger, and pain, and a sense of loss… it took a long time to get over myself.  To this day, I’m not always over myself.  But… I’d like to think I’m not the person who wrote those posts 7 years ago.  I’ve learned a few things… but the proof will be in my actions going forward. So please, feel free to call me out if I slip up.  I’m only human.

Watch my Facebook – as soon as I have a date for my Mr. Voice shifts at CSzRVA, you’ll find out there.

Until next time…

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

