Another week, another random ramble

So, Manti Te’o, amirite?

Sorry, I’ll never do standup but that was too easy of an opening to resist… for the record, I think he found a novel way to wear the beard, and that it’s just a shame our society is in a place where (if I’m even close) it was necessary.

But that wasn’t why I’ve turned on the Blog Machine again.

Over the last 10 days or so, and totally unprompted, I’ve had several friends who are physically distant all catch me online to say, in one form or another, “hey, I’m glad you’re my friend”.

Is that a thing? 

Actually, it probably is, and I realize it’s a thing I’m terrible at.  For whatever reason, I wound up developing the mindset that my actions showed that I cared.  I didn’t have to say “I’m glad you’re in my life” because I tried my damnedest to show it. 

Of course, in our geographically-larger but emotionally-smaller world, I tend to forget that I may not see people for a while, and thus can’t show them anything. 

On the other hand, it’s just not my style to – without a reason to do so – tell anyone that I care.  It feels… I’m not sure if “forced” is the right word, but it does feel awkward to say something like that without some kind of clear context.

Once in a while, I’ll post a Facebook status telling all my friends something like “hey, you’re part of my life because you do bring something of value, and I care about all of you, and thank you”.  But that’s pretty damn impersonal, isn’t it?

So… I guess this is a warning to my friends… I may tell you that I’m glad to have you in my life (at some point).  Don’t be shocked, and don’t try to call a medical professional.  I’m fine.  I just need to start reminding people that they matter.  As I posted a couple of weeks ago, I wish I’d done that while Thomas was still here.

Speaking of which, a friend mentioned in her Facebook status tonight that singing along to “For Good” (from Wicked) was probably not a good idea when you’re mourning a loss.  I wasn’t familiar with the song – no, I’ve never seen Wicked as I was seriously broke when it came to Richmond – so I Googled it.  Well, THAT was a spectacularly bad idea… nothing like a song whose hook is “who can say if I’ve been changed for the better, but because I knew you, I’ve been changed for good” when you’re hurting… once again, dashed by my own curiosity…

…but hey, if you’ve read this far, let me bring you down a bit, too (he said a bit devilishly).  This song popped up on my iPod a few days after the funeral, and I couldn’t finish listening to it the first time.  If all you remember of The Escape Club was “Wild Wild West”, you will be surprised by this track… but if you’re hurting, too, you may want to avoid it.  It will bring tears… you’ve been warned… and I’ll talk to you next time…

Just think of me…
Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

