Catching up (again?)

No, I haven’t blogged for a while, thanks for (not) asking.

I’d like to say it’s because I’ve been busy.  I would, but that would be a stretch.

Really, it’s because I haven’t had a lot to say – thus, I haven’t said it.

The singing-competition shows are about to ramp up into the actually-interesting part of their seasons… the live shows when we get to participate by voting (although I rarely do). 

I haven’t completely decided if I’m going to blog The Voice, X-Factor USA, both, or neither.

I like The Voice because they’re attracting a better class of singer – and because they don’t go out of the way to mock their auditioners as much as the FOX shows do.  But damn, do they drag out the audition process.  First, the blind auditions.  Then, the first judges’ elimination rounds (“battle rounds”).  Then they do a second round of eliminations this year (“knockout rounds”).  Finally, sometime in June, I think (OK, that’s an exaggeration), they go live with 20 singers for the run to the finals.  It’s kind of exhausting to watch – and they’re going to do it all again in the spring! 

As to X-Factor, I am liking the documentary-style audition shows – something forced upon them by the fact that after firing the Charisma Vacuum, Steve Jones, last year, they still haven’t officially announced new hosts – but the talent is, frankly, not all that inspiring.  When one of the mentors, L.A. Reid, basically throws a hissy fit because he knows his assigned talent has no hope of winning, it really doesn’t set a good tone for the series.  What’s worse, frankly, is the creep-factor of watching 13-year-old girls singing adult love songs to an audience of Britney Spears, will.i.am, and a camera crew.  One of those tweens could win this thing, and that scares the hell out of me, because there isn’t a 13-year-old alive who could handle $5 million and a recording contract without becoming… um… Britney Spears in a couple of decades.

I feel like I’m too old for X-Factor.  And I feel The Voice is like water torture.  I’ve got a couple more weeks to work this out, I guess.

As to the rest of my life… the new job is going really well.  Two months in, I’m getting comfortably settled in – but… the first rule of the firm’s social media policy is that we don’t talk about the firm.  So while I’m glad to be there, I really can’t tell tales out of the office.  Sorry.

I am enjoying the freedom to actually have a real life outside work.  Which is why you’re likely to find me at an improv show (or more) most weekends, as well as the occasional wrestling show, and I’m ramping up for another season of studio operations for VCU and Richmond sports. 

And it looks like I’m going to hit three shows from three troupes in three nights this coming weekend… Thursday will be the Richmond Comedy Coalition’s free “The Lab” at The Shop at Plant Zero… Friday brings the first Hallowe’en show, “Overtime Improv Must Die” at CSzRVA… and Saturday’s show is West End Comedy’s Hallowe’en show at HATTheatre.

So… that pretty much summarizes what I’m up to.  Terribly exciting, no?

I figure I’m due for another update around New Year’s – but the high-rent karaoke blogs will start up shortly.

See you then.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

