CAA tournament meanderings…

For the second year, the good folks at the CAA granted media credentials to two of us from Main Line Broadcasting (as we’re the flagship station for VCU basketball)… so right off the bat, thanks to Rob Washburn (CAA Associate Commissioner for Communications) for letting us freeload at the big event… 🙂

And it’s a terrific event… a college basketball tournament generally is… the enthusiasm from the students (and usually a lot of alums and fans) is contagious.  There’s been some question about whether Richmond will continue to host the event past the current contract (expiring in 2012), and all I’ll say is this.  Richmond can’t afford to lose the CAA tournament.  It’s a defining moment in Richmond’s annual calendar, and it would be a huge mistake to let it get away.  Now I realize we can’t afford to replace the Richmond Mausoleum Coliseum, but if there’s a reasonable level of repairs that would keep the tournament here, the area should find a way to make it happen. 

I got to see the evening session on Friday, both sessions on Saturday, and tonight’s championship game (I was putting VCU games on the air Friday and Sunday… gotta earn my free ride, right?).  I’m not a basketball expert – honestly, I only follow it as far as I do because of my involvement with the VCU broadcasts – so I’m probably the last person to really talk about the quality of play.   Instead, I’ll just fire away with a few random thoughts and go from there…

  • Thanks to Robby Robinson, the voice of the Rams, for making me feel like a part of the broadcast team at the tournament, even though the reality is that my main function is to stay out of the way and enjoy the games… 🙂
  • That said, I’m told I did earn my credential on Saturday by fixing Robby’s WiFi problem (his computer refused to connect to the Coliseum’s wireless until I did a little IT voodoo)… so I guess it’s all OK, right?
  • After watching the ODU games Saturday and today, I have to ask… how did HBO’s casting directors miss ODU head coach Blaine Taylor when they cast “The Sopranos”?  I mean, really… if you saw him on the sidelines on ESPN tonight, you know what I mean…
  • With the disclaimer above that I’m not a basketball expert, I do have to wonder how William & Mary’s David Schneider made the All-Tournament team after shooting a whopping 3 for 22 in the Tribe’s semifinal and final games.  I mean… what did I miss?  And did I miss it as badly as he missed the basket?
  • Closer to home, I hope for his sake that VCU’s Larry Sanders (hey, now!) doesn’t declare for the NBA Draft.  His regular disappearing acts this season indicate, it seems, that he’s not quite up to the expectations placed on him.  He’d probably do better coming back for another year and focusing on using his size and wingspan to his greater advantage on offense.  And if I don’t know what I’m talking about, I’m sure there are folks ready to correct me. :)  But it’s based on listening to a bit more than half the VCU season, so I may be on to something… 🙂

Well… at least VCU’s season isn’t over.  There’ll be one more game, and hopefully more, in one of the second-level postseason tournaments… probably the NIT, but with four CAA schools to chose from (VCU, Mason, Northeastern, W&M), the NIT isn’t guaranteed to take VCU.  That said, Old Dominion won the newest of the tournaments, the CIT, last year.   Perhaps VCU could take the same path… smaller tournament this year, and then back to the CAA title next year?

I promise to be more snarky when I get back to blogging American Idol tomorrow night. 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

