I hate when this happens…

I knew something was going to wrong today.  We were trying something a bit different with our VCU Rams basketball broadcast… the game was going to air on half of the Big Oldies simulcast (only on WARV/100.3)… then the post-game was going to air on both stations (107.3/100.3).

All I had to do, at the end of the game, was play commercials on WARV, switch inputs to our ISDN box so that the VCU broadcast team could hear me (as we switched studios between the game on 100.3 and the postgame on 107.3), backtime WBBT’s music so I could get the post-game on the air quickly, reconnect WARV to the WBBT simulcast after those commercials ended, and then get the VCU broadcast on WBBT… running between two studios and our Wall of Stuff (all of the gadgets and electronics that keep 4 stations on the air).

But that wasn’t what I screwed up.  THAT worked.  Flawlessly.  You’d think I’d done this a few dozen times.

No, what I screwed up was the calendar.  🙂

When I got to the station, there was a note on our whiteboard that “the spots for today’s remote are produced and ready”.  I gave the calendar a cursory glance, (thought I) saw the remote was today, and put the spots into our on-air system.

So imagine my surprise when I called the air talent who was “doing” the remote — after it was over — and found out that it was yesterday. 🙂

That’s right… I spent the first half of my show today hyping a “live” remote that happened 24 hours earlier.  I’m probably going to catch hell for this.  And, frankly, I deserve it.  This is the kind of sloppiness I tend to get on other people for… so, with this blog entry, I’m getting on myself for it as well. 🙂

Fortunately, I had the basketball game to take my mind off my Major Mistake.  Actually, I was kind of confident about the VCU game, considering I had made my one huge screwup for the day already.  I guess VCU was, too… they blew UNC-Wilmington out of the gym by 34 points. 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

