And so it ends…

The IM from my manager came at 9:42 AM (yes, you remember the oddest things):

Hey, I need your release/waiver today since you won’t be here.

What he was referring to was my severance release form that would have been due on Oct. 9, but for the fact that I’ll be in Florida on Oct. 9.  Today was my last scheduled day, but we were holding out hope for an extension.  So, I asked…

Sure, working on it now.  Any chance you won’t need it?

The reply pretty much ended it…

(paraphrased) No. I’m working on [communications] to the team.

And so 8+ years of service to WellPoint ended quietly this morning.

I asked for, and got, the afternoon off – we had stopped taking calls yesterday, I had finished up my part of the rewrite of our knowledgebase for Dell (whose Global Services division is now WellPoint’s helpdesk) this morning… and really, I had nothing left to do but sit there and be both bored and emotional. 

At least I have the Florida trip as a bit of a buffer from reality… then when I get back, I have to find a job.  No problem, it’s only the worst economy in 70 years, should be a piece of cake, right?

Fortunately, I have severance pay coming until February, which seems like a long time except for the fact that it isn’t. 🙂

So if you know anyone who’s looking for an experienced first/second-level helpdesk technician (or maybe other IT-related work)… comment here with an email address and I’ll be in touch – well, maybe not while I’m in Florida, but when I get back… 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

