Catching up…

So how did that wild week go?

Due to a large-scale Conficker computer virus outbreak at work on Wednesday, which meant that we were slammed pretty much all week, I cut back a bit on the rather aggressive schedule noted in the last post. 🙂

So Yes/Asia and the Richmond Comedy Coalition were out, and I couldn’t balance the radio station and the Duck Race (again, this is 2 or 3 years now)…

So I pretty much focused on Random Acts.  Big surprise, considering I’m a serious improv comedy fan…

As always, they provided two enjoyable double-shots… the first show each night was “The Last Greatest Invention”.  Set at a school science fair, Random Acts improvisers had to “invent” something to solve problems provided by the audience.  Interestingly, on Friday, they “invented” marketing.  And discovered that marketing causes baldness.  On Saturday, they “invented” the gun.  And discovered that guns cause the shooter to become drowsy.   Trust me, hilarity ensued.

The late shows were the more traditional Mainstage show.  Friday’s was fun.  Saturday’s… was fun, and somewhat odd.  There was an audience member who clearly hadn’t been to an improv show before and somehow became convinced that she was part of the show.  The rest of the audience was too nice to go to her seat and strangle her. :)  Of course, the Random Actors did a good job working around her… it’s not the first time they’ve had to deal with a boisterous audience member, and it won’t be the last.

It should be noted that a few of the Richmond Comedy Coalition performers attended the Saturday Mainstage show – Random Acts went to the RCC show Thursday, so it was a return visit.  This, to be honest, worried me a bit.  The core of RCC were at ComedySportz Richmond when I was dismissed 4 years ago… and I hadn’t really seen any of them since then.  I didn’t want to dredge up the past, so my plan was creative avoidance.  :)  I’m good at it.

Well, I thought I was.  But failing at creative avoidance was a good thing.  I wound up reconnecting with one of the RCC founders, someone whose friendship I was very disappointed to lose back then.  I’m going to leave it at that for now, other than to say that the conversation we had has helped remove my “personal obstacles” (mentioned in the last blog) to attending RCC shows… 🙂 I’m looking forward to checking out the next Richmond Comedy Coalition show in August.  Gratuitous blog entry coming as we get closer.

And Random Acts is back in late August with the pirate-themed “Arr Town”.  Additional gratuitous blog entry when we get there.

Tomorrow, I get back to winding down 8 years with WellPoint.  There’s 2 weeks left.   In order to preserve my severance pay, I probably can’t say much more than that…

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

