Saturday

Another week on the treadmill…

I guess I shouldn’t complain.  I do still have my jobs, unlike 1500 people at WellPoint and a few at Main Line, all of whom were laid off as the Depression That Dare Not Speak Its Name deepens.  I can pay my bills.  It could be worse.

I’m just kind of bored.  Nothing changes… I do the same stuff at the same time every day of every week.  Unfortunately, this is the worst time to go looking for a change in venue – I have two jobs, it’s safer to just keep them, I guess, even if the excitement has long since bled out of them…

Elsewhere:

Did you know we have a new President?  Of course, we do… and Obama has started to undo W’s reign of error.  There’s a long way to go, and one only hopes he can do something to get the economy out of the dumper… I found a cool picture that sums up my feelings about the transition… Click here to see it.

The inauguration did cause a bit of a hassle at WellPoint… so many people chose to view the inauguration over streaming video at their desks that our network started to bog down… the company sent out two emails, first asking, then demanding, that everyone stop.  When that was ignored, the company blocked CNN, Fox, ABC, and MSNBC for the day.  From what I’ve seen, we weren’t the only company to do so… interestingly, the helpdesk didn’t get any calls complaining about this… 🙂

Speaking of the day job, one of my WellPoint co-workers is off on a Most Excellent Adventure.  She left the company on Thursday, flew to visit her family in Texas today… and then will be flying on to Miaoli City, Taiwan, to teach English to Taiwanese schoolchildren.  She didn’t get away without drama, though… last weekend, she had scheduled a yard sale to clear out her stuff… unfortunately, the night before, her roommate took some initiative and cleared her stuff out for her, along with his.  He hasn’t been seen since.  While it did make packing for the move easier, this probably wasn’t the way she wanted to leave Richmond…

Ah well… back to the same old same old, I guess… see you on the radio… 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

