From the studio… again…

This week, it’s VCU basketball on WBBT.  For VCU, my job consists of switching from music to basketball, waiting 3 hours, and switching back. 🙂  Rough gig, and I get paid for it.  Of course, I use the time to catch up on off-air work… really… as this blog shows…

At least I was able to make a completely fearless prediction on-air earlier today… I said that I could guarantee that the Rams would win.  Of course, that’s because the VCU Rams are playing the Rhode Island Rams.  It’s an old joke (I think I first heard it from wrestling manager/broadcaster Bobby Heenan), but it works if you don’t use it too often.  Since VCU doesn’t play another “Rams” team this year, I’m safe.

It’s going to be an interesting week ahead… my schedule at Anthem/WellPoint changes, I’m doing 7am-4pm for a while (I was doing 8am-5pm), meaning I have to wake up earlier (ugh) but get to go home in the sunlight (yay)… and then we get to Thanksgiving… two days with no plans!  With my family in Chicago, and the reality that I can only do one holiday trip home, I go back for Christmas and spend a quiet Thanksgiving at my place.  I plan to be sleeping Friday while Black Friday shopping starts (Kohl’s opens at 4am.  They’re nuts!). 

And next Saturday… the VCU game is at… wait for it… 10:30pm.  Yes, really.  VCU will be playing a holiday weekend tournament in Cancun (rough gig for them), in the second half of a doubleheader that starts at 6pm in Cancun (8pm Eastern).  If the game starts on time at 11pm, I’ll leave the studio at 1:30am.  I’m too old for that… 🙂 but it’s a job, and I was the only board operator available (or so I was told) (OK, I really was).

33 days until Christmas… where did 2008 go?

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

