This was the week that shouldn’t…

A few personal headlines:

Disney closing Pleasure Island at Walt Disney World: If you’ve been a regular reader, you know I have enjoyed visiting the comedy clubs of Disney’s Pleasure Island (the Comedy Warehouse improv club, and the Adventurer’s Club, which defies description) for years.  Well, that small pleasure is over for me.  I’m heading back to Orlando in October — shortly after Disney closes Pleasure Island on September 28.  They’re going to replace the nightclubs with more franchised restaurants and chain retail stores, as the bean-counters have thrown the creative types under the bus… Of course I’ll still go to Orlando, we have the family timeshare… it just lost a little luster, that’s all…

Oops, did I say that? Well, not me, exactly.  I think I mentioned that I interviewed for a promotion at the day job.   The selected candidates were supposed to get their offers today — but, as has happened before, the decision has been put off.  That’s fine.  What wasn’t fine is that the message announcing the delay was sent to all of the candidates… with the list of candidates in the “To:” line of the message… thus telling everyone who else applied for the promotion… which is supposed to be a secret.   In this day and age, most people know what the BCC line is on an email message… 🙂

Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain: This is going to be a bit vague… but I just found out some mildly disturbing information about someone who’s been a friend for several years… and I honestly don’t know if it’s a case of (1) he thought I already knew or (2) he realized I didn’t and wasn’t about to enlighten me.  I’m really not sure how to handle it… or how much to say… other than I’m really surprised.   And once I figure out how I feel about it, I guess I’ll figure out how to talk about it.  Apologies for the blind item. 🙂  It’ll happen once in a while.

Oh, and go figure, “Wipeout” was apparently the highest-rated of this week’s game shows.   Goes to show there really is no accounting for taste. 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

