Richmond Improv FOOEY!

Let’s compare, shall we?

Chicago Improv Festival ’08 – 60 acts from 20 cities.

Twin Cities Improv Festival ’08 – 25 acts from 6 cities.

San Francisco Improv Festival ’08 – 20 acts from 15 cities.

Baltimore Improv Festival ’07 – 15 acts from 6 states.

Richmond Improv Festival ’08 – 7 acts from 1 city.  4 of those acts are either owned by, or play exclusively at, the host venue.

I report.  You decide, because my opinion is obviously incredibly biased.

EDIT: More on the topic in a follow-up post

SECOND EDIT: The original post refers to the May 2008 edition of the RIF.  Click the “follow-up post” link for my comments on the November 2008 edition.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

5 thoughts on “Richmond Improv FOOEY!”

  1. Hi – I found your note because I have a Google Alert about our festival (TCIF).

    I would say what we have here is a local showcase and it’s called a festival as a marketing tool. I am totally in favor of this. It is best if things start small. It would be silly to spend a lot of money on airfare and hotel for national acts before you’re sure the audiences have an interest in an improv festival. Our first year was last year and we were fairly certain we could pull it off because there had been a weekly showcase with lots of local troupes for some time.

    If you’re upset because your troupe has been left out, then I would say your job is to get over there and help out as much as you can so that you’re never forgettable again. It’s only us vs. them if you make it that way. Go be part of us.

    Those are my thoughts, anyway.

  2. It’s nice to have such a famous improv name visit my blog.

    But if I tried to explain… well, let’s just say it’s personal and leave it at that.

    Thanks for stopping by, and good luck with TCIF.

  3. I was googling RIF and found your page. I’m playing in the festival and I am from Philadelphia. Here is a list of all of the groups that are playing taken from the IRC:

    Moxie: Trapped (NEW YORK CITY)
    Superbest (WASHINGTON, DC)
    Einstein meets Elvis (ATLANTA)
    Illegal Refill (PHILADELPHIA)
    iProv (RICHMOND)
    Uderhall (BALTIMORE)
    Yarns (AUSTIN)
    The Moving Walkways (BALTIMORE)
    Underage Sugar Addicts (CHICAGO)
    Full Contact (RICHMOND)
    Death by Improv (NEW JERSEY)
    Cousin Sheckie (RICHMOND)
    Ourselves (CHAPEL HILL/TORONTO/AUSTIN)
    RiF All-Stars (VARIOUS)
    ComedySportz (RICHMOND/VARIOUS)

    Also, it’s only RIF’s first year, so I think that’s why it’s a teensier festival compared to others.

Leave a Reply

