AI Week 6 – Mariah Carey Week

David Archuleta – “When You Believe”
Shouldn’t a 17-year-old be having some fun here?  He comes off as far too “serious” (and it’s more noticeable now)… it was OK, but not great.  From another singer, this performance would be risky.  From the teen Idol… he’ll get away with it, even in the Death Slot.

Carly Smithson – “Without You”
So Carly is covering Mariah’s cover of Nilsson’s classic version of the Badfinger original?   Not bad… I enjoyed it, although she overplayed it at times… I think she’ll get through…

Syesha Mercado – “Vanishing”
The song title is ironic, isn’t it?  I don’t know that she got enough of it to escape the Bottom Three.  It was OK, but I sense she needed more than that tonight.

Brooke White – “Hero”
I kinda liked it… on this song, a somewhat subdued version works.  Now if it’s enough to get her out of the Bottom Three… we shall see.  There is a niche for Brooke after AI, although I don’t think she can win this.

Kristy Lee Cook – “Forever”
OK, this is all wrong.  How can I make jokes about her when she succeeds?  I think she’s the best of show so far.  Whether that works with the voters, we’ll see, but she’s coming into her own as a performer.

David Cook – “Always Be My Baby”
Let’s see how the Mariah theme plays with the rocker guy… OK, I’m sold.  Kristy Lee slides back a notch — THIS was the performance of the show.  For him to take a song so far from his range and own it… wow.  I know the popular wisdom is that Archuleta’s going to win this, and that’s fine.  David Cook is going to be the star from this class.

Jason Castro – “I Don’t Wanna Cry”
A little better than OK, but suffers a bit coming after David Cook.  I don’t think it was a Bottom Three performance, but it could wind up there anyway.

THE BIG FINISH: David A. didn’t quite stand out… I liked Carly’s cover, but I don’t know that the voters will… Syesha picked the wrong week to “vanish”… I enjoyed Brooke’s version of “Hero”, but again, will the voters?… Kristy Lee isn’t the “worst” anymore, she earned another week… David C. won this week, no question… Jason was OK, might go Bottom Three, we’ll see…

MY BOTTOM THREE: David A., Syesha, Jason
VOTERS BOTTOM THREE: Carly, Syesha, Brooke
SHOULD GO HOME: Syesha (didn’t do enough)
WILL GO HOME: Syesha

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

