AI Finals Week 4 – “Dolly Parton”

Written live as the show aired…

I should preface this by saying I’m not a big country fan.  This may be good in that I won’t know most of the songs… 🙂

Brooke White – “Jolene”
Welcome to the Death Slot.  Wow, it’s Brooke’s Old-Time Jug Band. 🙂  Of course, one of Idol’s country girls is right at home here.  Good performance, she seems to be enjoying herself.  I think she’ll survive going leadoff this week.

David Cook – “Little Sparrow”
The rocker does country.  Everyone duck. 🙂  Plugged-in acoustic guitar.  Have I mentioned that this guy is GOOD?  Nicely played rockish-country arrangement.  I liked it, the bar is set high now.

Ramiele Malubay – “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind”
Poppish take on the song, she’s showing a little more involvement in the song than she has in the past.  An OK performance, but I don’t know that she got enough out of it to avoid the Bottom Three.  We’ll see.

Jason Castro – “Travelin’ Thru”
Another poppish country track (I sense a theme)… another OK performance, a bit thin (as his stuff usually has been)… I think the teenyboppers will keep him in, although he’s on the edge of the Bottom Three.

Carly Smithson – “Here You Come Again”
Hmm… slowing down an already slow song?  Risky… not up to her past standards, either.  She can’t afford to be just OK… I like it, but I wonder if she’s set herself up for the Bottom Three.

A word from Idol’s sponsor: Ronnie’s not going to answer… because he’s a dillweed.  I just laugh at that line, sorry.

David Archuleta – “Smoky Mountain Memories”
I’m not sure his performance matters, as long as he’s got the teen vote… that said, he delivered an above-average performance that deserves another week.

Kristy Lee Cook – “Coat of Many Colors”
Crank up the Kristybot… of course, she’s at home with country… and for the first time, she looks somewhat comfortable on stage.  I do wish she’d show some emotion… interest… life on stage.  She might just miss the Bottom Three this week, and on merit.

Syesha Mercado – “I Will Always Love You”
It’s a risk doing a song that we all know.  It’s more of a risk doing a karaoke Whitney Houston.  After some of the performances tonight, this one is going to be a problem.  OK, but nay not stand up…

Michael Johns – “It’s All Wrong, But It’s All Right”
This may have been all wrong.  To steal a line the judges use a bit… I didn’t get it.  Not his best, and not a good last impression to leave.  This could well be a Bottom Three performance.

THE BIG FINISH: Brooke comes off VERY well by comparison… David C. was really solid… Ramiele connected, but I don’t know… Jason may be in trouble here… Carly may have misfired on song choice… David A. was good… Kristy Lee delivered for once… Syesha shouldn’t have tried to be Whitney… Michael was wrong, wrong, wrong…

MY BOTTOM THREE: Jason, Syesha, Michael
MOST LIKELY VOTED TO BOTTOM THREE: Jason, Carly, Kristy Lee
MOST LIKELY TO FINISH NINTH: Jason.  But if Syesha does slip to the bottom three, she’s done.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

