Beaten to the punch

For a few days, I’ve been planning a bit of a rant on the state of radio these days… a few things that radio needed to focus on in the 21st Century.

Then the Richmond Times-Dispatch did it for me in today’s Flair section.

There are two comments I wanted to echo from the article.  Jeff Beck (mornings on Main Line’s 98.9 Liberty) said something every programmer needs to remember – local radio works best when it’s local.  As far as I’m concerned, the less local we sound, the more we drive people to iPods, Napster and XMSirius.  The second came from former Richmond-area program director Brian Illes, and deserves to be quoted accurately: A little research is a good thing.  A lot of research turns into New Coke or Crystal Pepsi.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told some logical programming change or another was a bad idea because “it didn’t research well”.  Research, in radio, tends to be used to create statistics to prove someone’s point instead of accurately assessing what the audience wants.  It should be used to guide local programmers as to what their audience wants… not to justify what a consultant wants.

And please… please… don’t get me started on radio consultants, who can best be described as failed programmers who get paid to fail the same way over and over again.

By the way, speaking of radio… for the 2 or 3 of you who listen to me on the weekends, I’m on shortened hours next week due to VCU’s games in the CAA basketball tournament.  Saturday (3/8) I’ll definitely be on 10-11:30am only… and if the Rams win Saturday, my Sunday (3/9) show will be shortened to noon-2:30pm (Daylight time).   With Daylight time here, all we need is for spring to finally show up… 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

