Words about words

On my MySpace, I “declared” Friday, Feb. 15, as “Singles Day”.  What I didn’t know is that there are already Singles Days “celebrated” on October 1, and November 11; and I was far from the first to attempt to take the day after VD for singles.   We need to get this more organized for 2009.  I want a day with Hallmark cards and sappy songs for singles, just like VD is for couples.

But I digress… I’m really sitting here at the radio station blogging because I wanted to mention a couple of books I read lately…

Irreligion: A Mathematician Explains Why The Arguments For God Just Don’t Add Up by John Allen Paulos (who wrote Innumeracy, about “mathematical illiteracy”): if you’re religious, this book may challenge you.  If you’re not, this book will support you.  Paulos explains, and deconstructs, most of the arguments used by believers to “prove” the existence of a deity.  He doesn’t take himself seriously, but he applies serious logic that may be difficult to counter… if you don’t want to think about your beliefs, don’t read the book. 🙂

Where Did I Leave My Glasses?: The What, When, and Why of Normal Memory Loss by Martha Weinman Lear: Hey, I’m in my mid-40’s.  You don’t think my occasionally scattered mind worries me?  The good news, according to Lear, it’s actually both normal and “not scary” for memory to get a little shorter as one gets older.  Apparently, the brain actually… *gasp*… ages

Both are short books and a quick read… they’re worth a little time.

Oh well… the basketball game is back, so it’s time for me to get back to work.  Until next time…

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

One thought on “Words about words”

Leave a Reply

