Hello, this is 1972 calling…

…here’s a toast to Don Shula and the 1972 Miami Dolphins, as they remain the only undefeated team in modern NFL history.

And someone needs to go to the US Bank Tower in Los Angeles and talk ESPN’s Bill Simmons down…

New York Giants 17, New England Patriots 14.

Wow.

I’m glad I didn’t wager my Super Bowl prediction (the one where the Pats smoked the Giants).  And while I stand by my disclaimer yesterday, the 4th quarter and the final score make this a memorable Super Bowl… even if the game, as a whole, was hardly Super.

Don’t think it’ll go unnoticed that Bill “Darth Vader” Belicheck left the field with time on the clock, either.

While the Giants won, you can bet that Fox won, too.  The ratings on this one, with the game in doubt to the end, are going to be monster.  And I’ll cast my vote for the FedEx “carrier pigeon” commercial as the spot of the evening.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

