Can I start this year over again?

Geez… 🙂 the workload on the day job has spiked *again*… and it seems that an epidemic of dumb has struck the place, as the callers we get at the helpdesk are less competent and more abusive than ever.

So I went to the radio station today, figuring that I’d have a break from the crazy.

Oh, man, was I wrong.

I get there at 9:30, check the log for my show on the computer, and see a 10-minute commercial break scheduled for 10:15.  OK, that’s NOT good… as I scan the log, I see that we have one commercial break each hour, and it’s running 7-10 minutes.  That long of a commercial break is a disaster… so I proceed to fix it and call my program director to let him know the problem.

That’s when I am reminded that once again, the road to hell is paved with good intentions… it starts LAST weekend… when we had almost no commercials (it was the first weekend of the year and a lot of our annual contracts with advertisers hadn’t been signed yet).  So because of that, the traffic department ran one break an hour but programming planned for two (leaving one break each hour empty, meaning some production elements that aren’t supposed to run consecutively did).  OK.  Here’s where hell gets a new access road — during the week, sales got more of their contracts signed, so the traffic department went back to two breaks an hour.  At the same time, programming cut the schedule back to one break an hour — so our computer system, trying to figure this out, shoved all of the commercials into one break.  Fortunately, it’s fixable (it just takes a few minutes to move everything around), but this didn’t get the day off to a great start.

Then, at 11:30, we aired VCU basketball on half the simulcast (we split 100.3 off for basketball and kept the ’60s and ’70s on 107.3).  That was going fine until just before 1:00… when a Hofstra player went after a loose ball and crashed into press row.  Among the damage?  The phone cord for VCU’s connection to our studio.  Fortunately, this was just at halftime, so all we lost was the halftime show, as VCU found a replacement phone cord just as the second half started.  Needless to say, my day was sinking rapidly.

After basketball, I got a revised programming schedule for tomorrow from the program director.  I moved it onto a USB flash stick and tried to load it onto the computer for 107.3 BBT.  What I didn’t know then (and I do know now) is that the 107.3 BBT computer hates USB flash sticks.  It immediately went to a Windows Blue Screen of Death, knocking the station off the air.  Fortunately, we have an emergency CD sitting within arm’s length, so I put that on the air while the computer rebooted… which took FOREVER… (a couple of minutes, OK?).  I’ll do the changes manually on Sunday, and after that disaster, I realized it was well past time to go home.

Which is where I am now, and I’m not going ANYWHERE the rest of the day.   I’m hiding here, and that’s that. 🙂

Hope your weekend is better than this.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

