How I spent my vacation :)

Finally, time to write a Christmas blog…

First… geez… my nieces and nephews are growing up so fast… they’re 10, 9, 8, and 6, and man, do *I* feel old when I see them… 🙂   They’re old enough that they really enjoy Christmas without being old enough to be jaded about it… which makes shopping for and giving Christmas presents a blast… 🙂

I goofed off for the most part… caught an AHL Chicago Wolves hockey game (something other hockey teams should study for ideas on game presentation…) and my usual few improv shows.  First, there was Chicago Comedy Company (a fairly new troupe based in the Woodfield shopping district west of Chicago) – it was fun, of course, but as seems to be normal for them, they had to cancel one of the shows I wanted to see as I would have been the audience.  The next night, I was planning to see two ComedySportz shows at their “temporary” (for more than a year now) home at the Chicago Center for the Performing Arts.  However, when I got there, I saw a poster for Second City’s Dysfunctional Holiday Revue, playing in another theatre at CCPA the same night.  So I adjusted, caught the early ComedySportz show, then the Revue.  I’m glad I did.   The Revue skewered just about every holiday cliche and tradition.  It also did have a few sketches from the “One Nation Under Blog” touring show that hit Richmond earlier this fall, but that’s not really a complaint, just a note if you’re in Chicago. 🙂  And if you are, you should know that two Second City troupes are doing the show this New Year’s weekend, one at the CCPA in Chicago and one at Metropolis in Arlington Heights.

The only negatives for the whole week came from United Airlines… first, on arrival, it took them 45 minutes to get baggage from the plane to Baggage Claim.  I’ll have to cut back on the jokes about the Third-World baggage claim at Richmond… what was worse was that nobody in a United uniform had a clue where the luggage was… I had to call  United’s “customer service” center (which appears to be in Bangalore), where they at least told me that the baggage was somewhere in the airport.  Um, thanks.  Fortunately, I had time, but there were people on the flight who clearly didn’t… The second problem with United came when I tried to call them on Christmas Eve to rebook my Christmas Day flight (I had been scheduled to return to Richmond around midnight, and due to a change in family plans, didn’t have to).  I was hung up on by their automated call-mishandling system three times and transferred to the wrong department twice.  Fortunately, their website works better than their phones and I did get the flight rebooked.  So I treated myself to a first-class upgrade for my hassles. 🙂  I had a bunch of miles left over from my AMF days that I’d been keeping active by flying United once a year, so I decided to clear them out…

…which reminds me, I can take a United survey for a chance to win a bunch of miles… I think I’ll go do that now.

Later… 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

