Heading home

It’s been an eventful week in Orlando… well, maybe not really “eventful”, but I’ve been keeping busy.

I’m still here – had to vacate the timeshare but my flight isn’t until 6:30pm so I have the day to wander… so I wandered into Kinko’s to type a bit as I’ve discovered that the iPod Touch is a great web reader and lousy for typing anything substantial. 🙂

This was mostly theme parks and improv week… got to the Magic Kingdom, Disney Studios, and both Universal parks (free tickets RULE! – my parents, who own the timeshare, got free Universal tix as part of a sales promotion and since they didn’t have time to use them, I got one)… saw Blue Man Group in their new permanent theatre at Universal (if you have never seen Blue Man Group, you REALLY need to)… caught SAK Comedy’s 30th/16th Anniversary (30 years in business, 16 in Orlando) with a pair of wild shows last Saturday — the 8pm show featured 10 improvisers, the 10pm show had approximately 35, and they all got to play… and spent a lot of time at Disney’s Pleasure Island (improv at Comedy Warehouse, which has gotten a bit more willing to be un-Disney… and the interactive theatre that is the Adventurer’s Club)…

…the only downside?  I pulled a muscle in my leg Wednesday night.  I had made plans to meet the family for dinner at Hard Rock Orlando at Universal before the Blue Man Group show… as I was heading upstairs from the lobby to our table, I heard a little “pop” from the back of my left leg… it hurt, but not so much where I couldn’t keep going… I just had to cancel plans to go to Epcot on Thursday as I was afraid that much walking would have caused more problems.  I’m still sore when I walk (and I suspect that going through the Orlando airport’s going to be just *so* much fun later)… but I’m not surprised.   I generally do more walking in this one week of vacation than I do the entire rest of the year, so having a leg muscle say “ENOUGH” was no surprise.  I guess I really need to reopen that gym membership… 🙂

If nothing else, it’s good to break the routine.   I can only imagine how much of a mess I’ll be cleaning up at my office on Monday.  But I don’t want to think about that yet. 🙂

As far as I know, and barring any unexpected flight delays, I’ll be back in town tonight and on the radio tomorrow and Sunday.  See you there?

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

