Saturday night’s alright for chillin…

…this has been a bumpy week at the day job.

I am “mentor” for a six-member team… me, three in Richmond, two in Indianapolis… we work the live chat service, which is basically text-based tech support.  They type instead of call.

This week was the first week with the new team lineup.  So how did it go?

– One gave two weeks notice at mid-week.
– One was on vacation.
– One missed parts of two days with doctor’s visits *and* spent a good chunk of Thursday in one of “those” meetings with our manager.
– And one was out sick one day during the week.

So my “six”-person team averaged about 3.5 people present most of the week… and the one who quit does a far larger-than-proportional part of the work.

A fun week, as long as you consider “fun” doing twice the work you expected to do.

But there is a light at the end of the tunnel, and (for once) it doesn’t seem to be a train. 🙂  I interview Tuesday for an internal job opening that would basically be a promotion.  After 6 years at WellPoint/Anthem/Trigon, I should be able to sail through the interview.  I really want the job… I need to get off the frontlines (where I’m basically a glorified ticket-taker) and actually get to a position where I can fix stuff.  The extra income wouldn’t hurt, either.

In other news, the radio station still is what it is.  I’m still doing weekends, still waiting for the rumored tweak of the format.

At least I did get one small piece of good news… the apartment complex credited me the better part of a month’s rent.   Not sure why, and I do plan to verify this before the next payment is due…

How’s your world?

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

