Sunday night stuff…

…as I sit hoping that some possible changes in both of my jobs happen… might lead to more $$$ at the day job and more variety in the music on the weekend job… both of which would be Good Things…

…I’m looking over my friends list and pondering the whole concept of friends on MySpace.

Stepping back one step… it’s not like I have a lot of friends.  I’m kind of a tough person to befriend… I like to deal with people on my terms, when I want to.  I admit I can be difficult to find when I want to be alone, and I have quite the loner streak in me.

That said, there are people on my friends list who fell off the face of the earth weeks ago — in the Real World, we’d be at the point where I’d be calling the police and checking morgues. 🙂  But on the Internet (and in MySpace), disappearing friends aren’t all that unexpected, I gather.

I just wonder sometimes if we have really thought about the concept of how friendship works in a time where we have such readily-accessible methods of contact (that, paradoxically, we hardly seem to use).

Open-ended question… and hell if I have the answer.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

