Thinking outside the box

I’m going to get in trouble for saying this, but that hasn’t stopped me before.

When I started typing this blog, the NBC television network was showing Deal or No Deal.  I wasn’t able to watch it, because the local affiliate, NBC12, was covering the Virginia Tech massacre.

And I understand that, this is a huge story, with a major impact here in Richmond.   But, quite frankly, it doesn’t impact me and if it did, there are about a dozen cable news channels showing VT Police Chief Barney Fife making a fool of himself with contradictions, evasions, and possibly outright lies.

But I do understand the bigger picture, and that’s not the problem.  Well, the pre-emption on NBC12 isn’t my problem.   Chief Fife is a big problem, but I’m not here to talk about him.

My suggestion for NBC12 revolved around their digital subchannel, Channel 12.2, Comcast 208, that’s currently showing NBC Weather Plus.

How hard would it have been for NBC12 to bump Weather Plus off the digital subchannel and show NBC network programming until the end of Barney Fife’s press conference?

To put it another way… you have three programming choices…

1. NBC network programming
2. Live breaking news coverage from Blacksburg
3. Pre-taped weather loop

…and two channels to show them on.

Which one would YOU dump?

Seems like a no-brainer to me.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

