Radio stuff

Geez… it’s a New Year’s cleanout at the radio station…

Quick explanation: Oldies 107.3 (my weekend gig) is part of a cluster that includes 93.1 the Wolf (country) and 98.9 Liberty (variety hits – “We Play Anything”).

Yesterday, I got a call from the station to advise me that Oldies’ program director and afternoon guy — i.e., my boss, Joey Butler — had left the building.  Permanently.

This morning, I got an email about a noon meeting that I couldn’t attend because I do have a day job… at that meeting, several other shoes proceeded to drop…

– Kelly, the midday DJ at Oldies left.
– Richmond radio veteran Jeff Beck, the afternoon DJ and program director on the Wolf, gave up both jobs and is now going to be morning guy on Liberty.
– They replaced Joey and Jeff as PD of Oldies and the Wolf with former Y101 PD Mike Murphy.

There have been so many changes, so fast, that I am not really sure if I have an airshift this Sunday.  I think I do… there’s no indication, yet, that they’ve made decisions about that… but it’s the first time in a while that I’m really looking at losing the radio gig… which is, of course, a risk of having a radio gig… because I suspect there are more shoes to drop.

Now I’m not making any rash decisions.  My plan is to keep doing what I have been doing until someone tells me to stop doing it.  We’ll see where this goes.

So anyway… how’s your New Year been so far?

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

