Now THAT was a weekend…

Friday: ran right from work out to the far West End, to the Cramer Center for the Arts at the Steward School… it was a chance to see the Steward School and Barksdale Theatre co-production of Grease. It was an enjoyable show, and I’m glad I saw it when I did, because they put up the SOLD OUT sign later in the weekend… 🙂 then I found out that all of Richmond goes out for dinner at 9:30 on a Friday night, because there were crowds EVERYWHERE…

Saturday: Spent a couple of hours broiling myself at the Big Brothers Big Sisters’ Duck Race at Brown’s Island… I don’t do well with hot, humid weather, and I really don’t do well when I forget to grab a hat… 🙂 I think I did more to myself in those couple hours than I would have expected, I was kind of woozy the rest of the day. But it was fun to be part of the event, and it was certainly nice talking to folks about the Main Line stations… then I swung by Dogwood Dell, I was hoping to see the Jester’s Ink Hobo Joe comedy festival… when I got there at the scheduled 6pm start, there was exactly 1 person in the “crowd”. So I went out to dinner instead. 🙂 Then I went to Rocks (the former Bottom Line) to see Richmond Lucha Libre — a couple of guys I know from the more “traditional” promotions were working this show and I wanted to see how they adjusted to RLL’s more club-oriented crowd. They did OK… I didn’t. I was definitely feeling the effects of the heat and the long day, I wound up bailing out during the main event (at 12:40 AM, which is a time I am generally asleep!)… it was good to see Sean Denny and his posse 🙂 as well as part-time wrestling photographer and part-time excessive drinker Dave Layne… 🙂 [yes, this is to see if anyone reads this crap]

Sunday: Did the radio show from noon-5 (and actually did a good job for one or two segments)… then over to Maggie Walker Governor’s School to see the SPARC production of Cats. I knew one of the performers in a past life, so that was one reason — the other was that I’d never seen the show. It was a very visually-appealing production, the energy was great, the featured performances were terrific… of course, even after seeing the show, I still don’t understand Cats (capital C) or cats (small c)… I’m more of a dog person… dogs are big, dumb, and loyal to a fault… cats are small, smart, and picky… 🙂 but that’s me.

Downside to the Sunday SPARC show was that because of the one cast member I knew, there were going to be a whole bunch of people there that I really didn’t want to deal with… so I decided that I wasn’t going to deal with them. I got there just before curtain, took a great seat in the back of the auditorium which allowed me to get out as soon as the house lights came up (and that gave me a “big picture” view of the show), and tried to fight off the knot in my stomach all night… it’s been more than a year and seeing them STILL irritates me… but that’s my problem. Richmond’s not that big of a town, I’m going to run into them occasionally, I have to figure out a way to handle myself professionally…

Which would tend to explain why I avoid That Place and the people in it (and also that other idiot in Gloucester with his delusions of wrestling promotional adequacy)… it’s not only that I don’t want to see them… it’s that I used to have a temper back in the day, which I have spent a lot of time trying to get under control… people like those are liable to find a way to get me to blow it… and I refuse to allow that to happen… so if it means I have to rearrange my schedule at times to avoid those irritations, then so be it. Better to crimp my style a little bit than say or do something I’ll regret…

But even with the downsides… it was fun having this much to do… most of the downside was because I’m out of practice at being this busy so I didn’t pace myself… lesson learned… 🙂 I don’t think I’ll have this much to do in a weekend again this year… 🙂

So how’s YOUR world?

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

