Monday the 13th

First, the good news. “The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)” did not close tonight. They’re doing shows in Petersburg at the end of March (see Sycamore Rouge’s website for details), then back to the Funny Bone for Sunday matinees in April.

Tonight’s show at the Funny Bone brought out people I was glad to see (David Patton) and people I wasn’t glad to see (the proprietor of That Place on Staples Mill Road)…

…which leads to a tangent. I don’t get it. If I didn’t want to associate with someone, I sure as hell wouldn’t spend money to go see them perform (which is why I haven’t been to That Place since I was released)… and then to put on the Big Smile and play nice after the show? I know I couldn’t do that.

Fortunately, other people ALSO know I couldn’t do that, thus leading to two of the quieter acts of kindness anyone has thrown my way lately. While That Person and her husband were chatting up Fred and Michael, both Michael’s wife Amy and Fred’s girlfriend Erin came over to talk to me, thus allowing me a face-saving excuse NOT to have to go mingle with someone I really have no use for. Amy, Erin… I can’t thank you enough. 🙂

Anyway, back from the tangent. “Complete Shakespeare” is a funny, funny show. Go see it, either at Sycamore Rouge or back at the Funny Bone. You will laugh. A lot.

In other items of note… a certain spitfire friend of mine isn’t the only one to have a new Verizon Wireless phone to brag about… my New Every Two rights turned over this week, and I traded my aging Audiovox phone for a brand-new, just released, Motorola RAZR. It’s so cool that my technogeek coworkers were falling all over themselves to check it out today. For a brief moment, I’m cool… 🙂

Speaking of David Patton, he’s mounting a production of Sam Shepard’s “Fool For Love” for one weekend only in April… more details to come once he remembers to mail them to me!

Oh, right, I did finally get my new iPod. Black 30gb 5th Generation Video iPod. It’s so cool that one of my co-workers went out and got one. For a brief moment, again, I was cool…

Not much else going on that I can think of… so until next time, everyone…

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

