Moments

Life is about the moments. I saw Komic Sutra perform tonight. The show was great, but I’ll remember one moment — where the “temp”, Abby Davis-Hess, got her official welcome in a game of spit take. The improv game of spit take is about one thing — how much water can you spit on your teammates… well, in order to welcome Abby to the troupe, the rest of KS made sure to maneuver her into position for an all-out blast that left her drenched… 🙂 the whole show was hysterical, but that’s what I’ll remember most…

I guess a lot of the things that I look back fondly on in my life are the moments…

– Being pretty much the only radio station in Richmond that was live the Sunday after Isabel (I think, I lost track)… we had someone running the transmitter on a diesel generator so I could be on from noon-6… and we bent the format and did a lot of information and updates… even did some contests! One of our winners called in from a convenience store ice line.

– Same deal on the Sunday night of an overnight ice storm… doing school closings through the afternoon and getting calls from people checking on their schools… just knowing we were making a difference was fun…

– All the little moments over the 10 months at that part-time gig I just lost… it’ll take time, but there are things I’ll look back fondly on once the shock and hurt wear off…

– The night I got to do a wrestling move. The one and only of my ring announcing career… the promoter told me a few weeks before that we were going to build to a moment that would get the crowd roaring. And then he told me I’d be clotheslining a wrestler… at which point I asked him if he’d been hit in the head too hard… 🙂 but he was serious. We spent half the show building to it… my role was as ring announcer/commissioner in the storyline, so I’d keep making decisions against this wrestler and his stable, the Elements of Destruction… he’d get angrier and more threatening, finally pushing me around the ring. We had various Elements members wrestle during the first half of the show, and he’d be at ringside… then finally, we ended the first half of the show with his match. By now, the crowd wanted someone to kill him for what he’d been doing to me. He wrestled his match, cheated a bit, I kept getting more visibly upset, finally taking off my suit jacket and throwing it aside “in anger” (so I could move better)… then he bounced the referee out of the ring, as well as his opponent, so I slid into the ring and stood in the center glaring. He came to me and told me that if I didn’t get out of the ring by the count of three, he was going to “kill me”. He counted one… I stood there… he counted two… I started to turn away… he turned around to gloat… I said “oh, hell, no I’m not leaving” and turned back… he turned around… and I hit him with a picture-perfect clothesline. 🙂 I know it’s picture-perfect, I’ve seen the picture! Well, we got the reaction we wanted… the place just blew out the noise meter… and in that instant, I understood why guys spend their lives wrestling long after their bodies betray them. There’s an adrenaline rush when a crowd is losing their minds for you

– Then there was spending this past Tuesday doing some of my best radio work as part of “Go Live Against Diabetes” for Oldies…

– And, last but not least, all the little moments when I helped someone at a tech support job and they said “hey, thanks for that”…

Yeah, life is really about those smaller moments.

Can’t wait for the next one. 🙂

Maybe in Tampa? I’m going back for Anthem in 2 weeks.

Maybe when Jessie’s Girl performs next weekend at the Art Works in Manchester/Richmond?

Maybe at a wrestling show, now that I have time to go to some occasionally?

And maybe at something that I don’t even know is coming, now that I have that extra time? 🙂

I don’t know, but I’ll be looking for new moments to create… or share…

Maybe one of you will be part of it. We shall see… 🙂

Keep in touch, people. I know you’re out there. I’m in here. 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

