Frustrations

It’s a shame, really… there should be one improv community in Richmond… it’s not like we’re a big town with lots of choices for people… but because a few key players would rather hold onto and cherish their grudges against each other, it’s never going to happen.  Y’know, that’s kind of ironic… one of the key teachings of improv is that you have to get outside yourself… don’t let what’s going on in your world interfere with the creativity… yet there are people who won’t get outside themselves enough to end the almost two years of cold warfare.   And if you’re reading this (or you have someone checking it out for you) and you’re asking “Is he talking to ME?”… well, if you have to ask the question, you know the answer.

Komic Sutra performed last night… as usual, it was a fun time, made more fun by seeing Abby Davis-Hess for the first time in months — last night was her first night out since she joined the parental ranks.  As with any proud new mom, she had the baby book ready — although I was kind of surprised to find myself looking at a picture of 5-minute-old Jacob Hess… poor kids get NO privacy these days… πŸ™‚  KS’ Kim Thurston is next, in about 6 weeks… makes me glad I’m single, I hear fertility is contagious… πŸ™‚

Other touchpoints… Anthem is still Anthem… I had accepted an invite to a most unusual wedding this weekend but I’m having second thoughts (it’s my male boss’ wedding — to his boyfriend, but that’s not why the second thoughts are happening)… things around the office are a bit strained, promises were made that haven’t been kept, and I don’t know if I can get outside myself enough to smile and celebrate Saturday.  I have 48 hours to get over it, though.  I really would like to see this… of course, it’s not a binding ceremony, but it’s a rare opportunity.  Of course, I thought the first… er… “non-traditional” wedding I’d go to would be my friend Jennifer’s in Chicago, but she can’t seem to find the right girl… πŸ™‚

‘Tis another holiday weekend coming up… got Witching Hour tonight (I’m at the box office), CSz and Empire Friday and Saturday… and (proving that we don’t learn) Oldies is doing another Memorial Day 500 countdown of the top oldies ever… the problem is that trying to manage the playlist is tough… πŸ™‚ you have to really keep working through the list, moving songs around, adding filler at the end… it can be fun, but it’s a reminder that it’s actually almost a job… πŸ™‚  At least I don’t have any major plans for Monday.  I have to stop by Oldies to catch up on paperwork, but otherwise I’m chillin’… πŸ™‚

See you on the radio, or at CSz… πŸ™‚

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

