Saturday in the park

OK, I’m NOT going to take the blog friends-only.

Yet.

Anyway, I’d catch up but there’s not all THAT much to catch up on…

Things at Anthem are as they are… there may be an opening or two I’m going to look into now that I’m off warning and can start to look for transfers… but I’ve come to the conclusion that for what Anthem pays me, I can live with whatever I’m doing. 🙂

It’s quiet at Oldies… still waiting for the new station to sign on (98.9/WCUL)… it’s looking like summer before they make it on air. I really don’t get it… after spending $6M for the frequency and a lot more money to get the transmitter, not to mention the angst they went through with Cheap Channel to rent the space for the transmitter, wouldn’t you think there’d be some urgency in recouping the investment? I like working at MainQuad, but I don’t think I’ll ever really understand them…

And at CSz, I actually got a chance to be onstage… Thursday night was the second John Tyler CC acting class showcase. CSz is part of it after they do their performances, with a mini-CSz show after intermission. This week, with Christine and Tim out of town, I was one of the only people there familiar with the setup. Jenni G. was assigned to both play and call the show, which I knew was going to be a problem (not because Jenni can’t do it, but because nobody *should* try to both focus on playing and not-playing at the same time!)… I had offered to do the calling for the show since there was no audio planned, but I think Jenni thought I meant that to say “do something with songs” (so they played Replay). About halfway through, I started to find ways to be involved — I did the timing for Replay from the soundbooth… then (along with John Porter) went onstage to do the tote board for 5 Thingz, recap the suggestions, and do timing and judging… and also set up and called the final game of Blind Freeze. It was fun being sorta-onstage. 🙂 At least I have more reason to believe I could be an emergency ref if it’s ever needed…

The next couple of weeks are going to be a blur — something like 8 or 9 Empire rehearsals, the Orlando weekend starting this Friday, work, Oldies, Vitreous Humor at CSz, and finally Empire premiere weekend May 13-14. It’ll be interesting to see if I find time to update for a while… 🙂

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), improv tech guy, generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

