Crash and burn

Well… I said something about funny stories.

Tonight was the next-to-last performance of “Sarah Laughed”, which means that with the nature of the rotating cast, some of them were done tonight.  Which means shenanigans, and hilarity ensuing.  Little did I know I’d be part of the hilarity.

At the end of the show, director and Comedy Sportz player David Patton was organizing a rush of the curtain call (from what I can tell, this is somewhat traditional).  I was asked to be part of it… anyway, the signal was given and I entered the stage from stage right.  They were singing about how God picks you up when you fall, so I decided to do a pratfall.  Amazingly enough, it is possible to trip while doing a pratfall, which put me out of control… as I pitched forward, I then fell into two of the small wooden blocks that were used as stage dressing, and as I twisted to avoid landing on my face, I wound up with my legs on the blocks, my butt sliding off stage left into the exit aisle, my head against the stage left wall, and David and a couple of other folks trying to pick me up as I am left laughing hysterically.  I missed the curtain call completely and left an impression that I suspect will never be duplicated.  I don’t think I’ll be part of next week’s second curtain-call rush. šŸ™‚

The radio show went well, at least… live noon-4, tape 4-6.  I think I’ll go totally live 10-3 tomorrow… but we shall see.

Author: Rob Hoffmann

Occasional blogger, full-time computer techie, radio producer (basketball, mostly), generally nice person (if you ask me).

Leave a Reply

